And away we go…

Well, we have at least two more hockey games to watch this season.  And since the Hockey East playoffs are starting up, I figured now would be a good time to break down the Hockey East playoffs.  If you haven’t already, go check the preview at Fear the Triangle, which I read this morning and was excellent.

#1 UNH v #8 Vermont.  UNH 2-0.  I’m sure UNH wasn’t thrilled to see Vermont find it’s way into the 8 seed, but nonetheless, I think this series won’t be too competitve.  Maybe Vermont makes a game of it for one of the nights, but I just don’t see them having the firepower to hang with the Wildcats, especially without the services of Justin Milo

#2 Boston College v #7 UMass.  Trust fund babies 2-0.  Kills me to say it.  I do think the Mass Attack will hang tough, and I hope I’m wrong.  (And if you thinking I’m trying to pull the reverse jinx, well, you’re right).  But BC has been great the whole second half, and the Mass Attack hasn’t.  They were great last weekend,  but against a Maine club that had some serious goaltending issues.  Just don’t see them being able to hang with (in my opinion) the best team in the conference.

#3 Boston University v #6 Merrimack.  Terriers 2-0.  Merrimack is much improved and all that jazz, but last I checked, the Warriors have to play these games at Agganis, and they are horrendous on the road.  If these games were at Lawler, I would honestly pick the ‘Mack to sweep.  But alas, BU moves on to take on BC (gaaaaaaag me)

#4 Maine v #5 UMass-Lowell.  Riverhawks 2-0.  I thought about making this 2-1 just so I wouldn’t have every series ending in a sweep.  Then I thought about the goaltending of the Blackbears minus Scott Darling.  Maine is 1-9 when he’s not in the lineup.  Make that 1-11. 

Feel free to discuss (or tell me what an idiot I am……because I am!)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “And away we go…

  1. Thanks for the compliment.

    Brooms all around, eh?

    • Any time! I didn’t want to take all sweeps, but I just couldn’t bring myself to give Merrimack a road win, or Maine and their god awful goaltending. I could see Vermont or UMass stealing one, but it’s a stretch. Plus I didn’t want to jinx my reverse jinx, so I couldn’t pick UMass either.

Leave a Reply

